Daily Reports




November 7, 2023 Municipal Elections Wrap-Up

Around a dozen contested races were on ballots in Carroll and Haralson counties on Tuesday. And, we’re not done with municipal elections for 2023 yet. One of those races requires a run-off election which will be held next month

In Carrollton, Mayor Betty Cason was elected to 4-more years as she defeated challenger Walt Hollingsworth. Cason collected approximately 75-percent of the vote.

Ward Three in Carrollton will have a new council-person in 2024 as the current-longest serving member on Carrollton’s City Council was unseated Tuesday. Jim Watters began his term as Ward 3 Councilmember in January of 2012. He was defeated by Stacie Gibbs with the challenger collecting close to 57-percent of the ward’s support.

Ward-4 Councilman Bob Uglam retains his seat. He collected 530 of the 606 votes cast in his race with challenger Constance Marie Glenn.

Also in Carrollton, Carrollton City Schools At-Large Board Member Melenie McClendon defeated challenger Tim Holt, to retain her position four-more years.

In the city of gold – former City Councilperson Leslie McPherson collected approximately 45-percent of the votes in a 4-person mayor’s race… 22-percent higher than the runner-up.

But, because McPherson did not meet that 50-percent plus one thresh-hold, a run-off election is required. City residents will be asked to return to the polls one more time on December fifth. McPherson is challenged by the incumbent Gil McDougal, who held on to that second spot by about 30 votes over Mac Pilgrim. Kendrick Davis earned the remaining 10-percent of residents’ votes.

Stephanie Warmouth will replace McPherson FOR Ward-3 on Villa Rica’s City Council after defeating Phil Butch in a special election. McPherson resigned this summer in order to run for mayor.

Still in Carroll County, former Temple ward-3 council member Hiley Miller will begin a new term as ward 4 council-person in 2024 after defeating Stuart Morlet.

And, Whitesburg’s special election for post 2 goes to Robert “Kim” Arnell who beat Steven Sutton 38-26.

In Haralson County, A.J. Scott is awarded 4-more years as Mayor of Buchanan after holding off challenges from Matt Cook and former city councilman Stanley Freeland. Scott collected 62 total votes; Cook: 50; and, Freeland: 32. A run-off is not required for this race.

Buchanan voters also selected Sterling Moore and Ron Moser for city council seats on Tuesday.

Bremen city voters selected Tony Armas as the city school system’s newest board member. Armas will replace post 2 board member Brandall Lovvorn beginning next year. Armas collected 546 votes versus 297 votes for Corey Coats.




Gradick Mobile Apps