Daily Reports




May 24th Elections Wrap-up

The Tallapoosa Judicial Circuit will be ruled by a new judge in 2023 as Cedartown attorney Andrew B. Roper defeated Chief Judge Meng H. Lim on Tuesday.

Roper has served as a Polk Magistrate Court Judge since 2013.

Roper collected more thann59-percent of the close to 14-thousand votes cast in Haralson and Polk counties.

Meng had served as judge since 2014, when he defeated three other candidates for the role— including Roper.

Danny Bailey will be Carroll County’s next district six commissioner – after collecting more than 60-percent of the vote in a four-person race to replace long time commissioner George Chambers who did not seek re-election in 2022.

Debbie Neal collected 20-percent of the vote, Kenneth Huddleston 11-percent and Vickie Anderson 9-percent in that race.

Incumbent district four commissioner Steve Fuller held off a challenge from 2022 University of Georgia graduate Will Godbee for a new four year term. Fuller received 65-percent of the votes in that race.

Tom Sizemore will be the new district-5 representative on the Carroll County Board of Education in 2023 after collecting 59-percent of the votes in a three-man race to replace long time board member Donald Nixon who is retiring at the end of this year.

Danny Elsbury will be the next district-2 commissioner in Haralson County—replacing Jamie Brown who did not see re-election in 2022. Elsbury received 57-percent of the vote over Skyler Williams on Tuesday;

Haralson County Board of Education District 5 incumbent James Watson wins re-election collecting 75-percent of the vote over Bobby Wilson.


More from the WLBB Newsroom



Gradick Mobile Apps