Daily Reports




11/03/21 Local Municipal Elections Wrap-Up

Tallapoosa residents selected Brett Jones as the Dogwood City’s next mayor on Tuesday. Jones collected 249 votes in the 4-person race. Former city councilwoman Jaqueline Roberts came in second with 219 votes.

Tallapoosa councilmen Dan Pope, Raymond Ballew and Mark Smith— all won their challenged races and hold on to their council seats.

Only one challenged race in Carrollton… Ward 2 city council incumbent Brett Ledbetter collected about 70-percent of the vote over challenger Brent Harris.

Two of three of the city council incumbents in Villa Rica won their races.

Ward three councilwoman Leslie McPherson will begin her third term in January after winning easily.

Ward 5 councilman Danny Carter defeated Dominique Conteh—by only three votes.

Villa Rica’s ward four will have a new councilperson in 2022. Anna McCoy defeated the incumbent Michael Young — despite not receiving a single vote from the Carroll County side of the City of Gold.

The majority of Villa Rica voters on Tuesday also chose to give city council the right to issue licenses for package sales of alcohol.

Jan Johnson will serve another 4-year term on Bowdon city council after defeating challenger Rhonda Keith.

The city of Whitesburg will see two new council members in 2022 after challengers defeated incumbents on Tuesday.

Donna Whitley will be the new post one councilperson after edging incumbent Robert Arnell by 4 votes.

The new post 4 councilperson in Whitesburg is Chris Lewis. Lewis received almost double the votes of incumbent Mike Sprayberry.

Post 3 councilwoman Lucy Gamble won her race on Tuesday.

ELECTION NIGHT COVERAGE WAS SPONSORED BY: Baxley Jewelers, Inoventive Benefits Consulting, Dollar Heating and Air, West Georgia Plumbing and Septic, and Smith Brother’s Supply


More from the WLBB Newsroom



Gradick Mobile Apps